Quality Time Explained - The 5 Love Languages®

Quality Time Explained - The 5 Love Languages®

Quality Time might be the easiest language to understand, but it can also be one of the easiest to misinterpret.

In this post, we’ll explain the Quality Time love language, take a look at some examples, and give you a list of ideas to help you create more quality time together!

If you haven’t yet discovered your love language, we’d like to invite you to take this free quiz.

Quality Time Explained

If your partner’s primary love language is Quality Time, it means that they feel loved the most when you spend quality time with them. No brainer, right? Not so fast! Being around them just won’t cut. Neither will the standard movie night. Why? Because quality time is way more than just time, it’s attention. In fact, this love language should probably be renamed to “Quality Attention”, but that doesn’t sound as good.

If you want to show your partner some love and their language is Quality Time, remember the 3 Be’s!

Be Deliberate with Your Time

Turning a suddenly open night or some random free block in the schedule into quality time may not work. Yes, spontaneity and adventure are great, but individuals whose primary love language is Quality Time appreciate the effort and determination you place into that time together.

If your quality time is dedicated and pre-planned, your partner will feel like that time is theirs. It shows that you are thinking of them and want to give them their own special time. That quality time was set aside for them and only them. By doing so, you’re reinforcing the fact that they are most important.

Be Mentally Present

So, you spend some time planning something special, but then you’re on your phone the entire time. Nooope! Remember, more than the time, the attention is what’s most important. If you’re skimming emails, your phone has your attention, not your partner. If you are watching TV out of the corner of your eye at the restaurant, those sports players have your attention, not your partner.

Quality time means putting away the phone and clearing your brain of anything distracting so you can to ensure that your partner is your number one focus!

Be Affectionate

You planned a killer night out together. Check! You turned your phone off and are totally ready for some one-on-one time. Check! Now what? Well, be affectionate! Show your partner you love them. Be playful. Tell them how much you care. Again, show them that they are your world. That attention will go a long way in helping to affirm your love!

Quality Time: Date Night Challenge

Over the next week, we are challenging you to create some quality time together! Shocker, we know.

We do have some rules though. It only needs to be 45 minutes, but you must do it every day. We’ve created a list of 10 options for you below. You can always pick your own, just make sure they all include the 3 Be’s!

Ideas for you Quality Time:

  • Take a walk around the neighborhood.
  • Do a puzzle or play a board game.
  • Find a DIY project to do throughout the week (finishing a little each day).
  • Plan out your next vacation together.
  • Find a new recipe and make it for dinner together.
  • Take a mini road trip.
  • Go stargazing.
  • Make homemade pizzas and eat while you watch the sunset.
  • Write a country song together about your relationship.
  • Play “If I Could” at the mall: Go to every store and chose one item they sell that you would buy your partner, if you could.

Want to learn even MORE about Quality Time?

Here at Crated with Love, we incorporate all of The 5 Love Languages® to help our couples closer together. Start your date night adventure and join thousands of other couples improving their relationships every month, one date night at a time!

Start Our Date Night Adventure!

Ready to dive deeper into another one of The 5 Love Languages®?

We’ve outlined all of different love languages and included date night challenges for each! Check them out below!

  1. Words of Affirmation
  2. Acts of Service
  3. Receiving Gifts
  4. Quality Time
  5. Physical Touch

What’s your love language? Click here to take the FREE QUIZ or get your copy today!
The concepts of The 5 Love Languages® have been shared with permission. ©1992, 2015 Gary D. Chapman. All rights reserved.

Back to blog